A-Level reforms too narrow

Today’s A-level reforms, as set out in the Education Secretary’s letter to Ofqual, are far too narrow, with a focus on the few not the many. In response to the reforms, University Alliance Chief Executive, Libby Hackett, said:

“Following Ofqual’s thorough consultation process last year we are surprised and disappointed with this announcement.

“With over 3/4 of students going to universities other than Russell Group universities – many on outstanding courses attracting high grade students – a more representative advisory panel would enable the A-level process to benefit from expertise from right across the university sector.

“This approach was not consulted on and we would be very interested to see the evidence base behind this decision.

“The UK higher education sector has a well-deserved reputation for delivering high quality degrees and we all share a vested interest in ensuring the quality of A-levels.

“Alliance universities are part of a broad and diverse sector that includes many outstanding universities that are transforming lives and delivering the highly skilled graduates needed for the future.

“We look forward to working with the Secretary of State and Ofqual to develop a system that takes into account the breadth of expertise that exists and the wider ambitions of our many students.”


Press contacts Sam Jones, sam@www.unialliance.ac.uk or 07767673982 and Andrew Henry, andrew@www.unialliance.ac.uk or 07833 236629

University Alliance is a non-partisan, non-political organisation working to promote, safeguard and sustain the public benefit delivered by universities together with our members.

Alliance members are Bournemouth University, University of Bradford, Cardiff Metropolitan University, Coventry University, De Montfort University, University of Glamorgan, Glasgow Caledonian University, University of Hertfordshire, University of Huddersfield, Kingston University, University of Lincoln, Liverpool John Moores University, Manchester Metropolitan University, Northumbria University, Nottingham Trent University, Open University, Oxford Brookes University, Plymouth University, University of Portsmouth, University of Salford, Sheffield Hallam University, Teesside University, University of Wales, Newport, University of the West of England.


a levels A levels

Further reading