University Alliance > News & Media > News Releases > Seven winners from universities across the UK announced at the Alliance Awards 2023

Seven winners from universities across the UK announced at the Alliance Awards 2023

Alliance Awards Graphic

Seven winners have been announced at University Alliance’s annual awards ceremony: the Alliance Awards 2023.  

Representing 16 of the UK’s leading technical and professional universities, University Alliance founded the Awards to celebrate the innovation, commitment and excellence that exists across their membership. 

Individuals and teams from Alliance universities won awards in categories that align with University Alliance’s core values: integrity, professionalism, innovation, collaboration and fun.  

The awards also recognise an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to their institution and to the higher education sector.    

Winners were selected from over 160 amazing nominees by a panel of independent judges from across higher education.  

They were awarded for work in areas from supporting those who have exhausted the criminal appeals process, optimising plant disease control to improve food security, to supporting students in gaining film industry experience through network collaboration.  

This year marks the fourth Alliance Awards event, hosted this time by the University of South Wales at their Treforest campus in Pontypridd.  

The ceremony was attended by individuals from the University Alliance membership, as well as key stakeholders from across government, higher education and partnered industries. 

Attendees were entertained by University of South Wales students throughout the evening, featuring live performances from the Indian and Bangladeshi societies, and student musicians and bands.  

University Alliance CEO Vanessa Wilson said:  

“It is always wonderful to get the chance to celebrate excellence from inspiring people across our Alliance membership – and this year was no exception. The projects and initiatives represented at the Awards display the extraordinary calibre of work happening at our universities, and the central role they play in the fabric of UK society and our economy.  

What better place to set the scene for such a wonderful evening than the beautiful Welsh countryside. Huge thanks to our hosts at the University of South Wales Treforest Campus who worked hard to give our nominees and winners a ceremony worthy of their success.” 

See the full list of winners below:  

The Alliance Award: which celebrates successful collaborations 

  • ARU Peterborough, Anglia Ruskin Universityfor establishing their new university, designed with local authorities to meet the skills needs of local students, employers and the regional economy.  

The Innovation Award: which celebrates innovative teams, individuals and ideas  

  • Dr. Edward McCaffrey, Middlesex Universitywho developed the Creative Campus Network to address skills shortages in the screen industries and to help students & graduates gain industry experience 

The Star Award: which celebrates fun, and is for individuals or teams who have made their university a brighter place 

  • Jamie Whelan, UWE Bristol who founded the AD(H)D Educator Network for teachers and trainees with ADHD, to empower those in the teaching profession with an ADHD diagnosis.

The Professionals Award: for those who have shown exceptional levels of professionalism 

  • Group Policy Unit, Coventry University for their external political engagement activities and enhancing the knowledge base of staff across the university on policy developments. 

The Braveheart Award: for those who have shown exceptional levels of integrity 

  • Dr. Louise Hewitt, University of Greenwichfor directing the Innocence Project London, which helps those who maintain their innocence in criminal cases, but have exhausted the criminal appeals process.

The DTA Alumni Award: for alumni of the Doctoral Training Alliance, who have made exceptional impact within and outside of their work  

  • Dr. James Fortune, University of Hertfordshire for his research into plant disease control to achieve food security, and for his work with local farmers clubs and wider UK agricultural organisations. 

The TechnologyOne Lifetime Achievement Award: for an exceptional individual who has worked tirelessly over the years to make an outstanding contribution to the higher education sector  

  • Professor Julie Newlan, University of Hertfordshirewho, in her 27 years of service at Herts, has been at the heart of their effective careers and employment strategy, their enterprise and business development strategy and their ambitious international growth plan.

    With thanks to our sponsors:


Duolingo Logo