Eight Alliance Universities awarded funding to expand degree apprenticeships

Vanessa Wilson

The Office for Students has announced a £12 million investment in degree apprenticeships in England, with over £2m allocated to Alliance universities.

Vanessa Wilson, CEO of University Alliance said in response to the announcement:

“It’s great to see eight University Alliance members awarded funding to expand their degree apprenticeship offer. Alliance universities have long been champions of this innovative provision, and their close relationships with industry make them ideal delivery partners. Given their increasing popularity, and their value for students and employers, this sort of investment will be essential in widening access to degree apprenticeships.”

Eight University members have received allocations to expand their degree apprenticeships offer: Anglia Ruskin University, Leeds Beckett University, Middlesex University, Teesside University, the University of West London, University of Derby, University of Hertfordshire and UWE Bristol.

The new funding will allow alliance universities to expand their degree apprenticeship offer in aerospace and civil engineering roles, alongside roles in allied health, digital marketing, data science and construction.

Further reading