University of Brighton

University of Brighton

Mithras House, Lewes Road, Brighton, BN2 4AT
01273 600900
Vice Chancellor
Professor Debra Humphris

The University of Brighton is defined by its commitment to social relevance, steering its curriculum and research toward the public good as a trusted partner. Social and community activity is at the heart of its ethos, defining both who they are as an institution and what they strive to achieve. This is exemplified in its support for 14 academy schools and its award-winning community partnerships and Widening Participation programme.

The University is part of a forward-thinking city that is loved for being original, eclectic and a welcoming and exciting place to be. With over 20,700 students studying across five campuses in Brighton, Eastbourne and Hastings it has a footprint in diverse communities across the south coast. A £200 million investment programme is ensuring that its students have access to sustainable world-class facilities, including a state-of-the-art Advanced Engineering Building being developed with its industry partner Ricardo.

Its research has been assessed as world-leading in the areas of Art and Design, Computer Sciences and Infomatics, Sports and Exercise Science, and Leisure and Tourism. In the areas of Engineering and Earth Sciences much of its research is classed as internationally excellent and it is a top five university for research impact in Business and Management Studies.

It is one of the UK’s largest teacher training universities and a major Higher Education provider for healthcare and engineering professions. Together with its local partners it supports the Brighton and Sussex Medical School, rated by its students as the best in the country. 93 percent of the University’s students are in employment or further study within six months of graduating.

With staff and students drawn from over 150 countries around the globe the University is proud of its diversity and international focus.

Recent news from University of Brighton

21 February: Students win Paxton scholarships
Two Brighton students have won prestigious scholarships at global technology company Paxton.

20 February: Brighton graduate hits screens in Sky Portrait Artist of the Year award
A University of Brighton alumna is to star in the prestigious Portrait Artist of the Year competition on Sky television.

19 February: University of Brighton research driving the way to zero-emission engines
Ground breaking new engine technology is opening the way to production of the worlds' first near zero-emission heavy internal combustion engine.

18 February: Boosting facilities for students
A new gym, learning space and seminar room have been unveiled at the university's Eastbourne campus.

18 February: Afrogallonism returns to Brighton for Festival
Ghanaian artist and University of Brighton collaborator Serge Attukwei Clottey will showcase his unique Afrogallonism artwork at Brighton Festival 2019.

Recent tweets from @uniofbrighton