New Chair for University Alliance

The University Alliance has chosen Oxford Brookes University’s Vice Chancellor, Professor Janet Beer, to succeed Professor John Craven, Vice Chancellor of the University of Portsmouth, as chair of the group.

Established in 2007, the Alliance group comprises a mixture of pre and post 1992 universities, which are not members of the other mission groups; the Russell Group, the 94 Group or Million Plus. Professor Craven is about to complete his three year term as chair.

Professor Janet Beer said: “I am honoured to be entrusted by my colleagues with this significant position. Professor Craven’s leadership over the last three years has been instrumental in establishing the University Alliance as an effective new national voice for a group of important institutions. Our members are incredibly grateful to him for his leadership.

“In the current economic environment, countries with highly skilled workforces will weather economic downturn better and will recover more quickly. Given the strengths of the universities in the Alliance, we are amongst the best placed to lead on this agenda. Alliance universities are connected to the needs of their regional economies, have outstanding links with a range of industries and enjoy national and international reputations for the quality of their teaching, research and enterprise. I am determined that the University Alliance will continue to have a strong voice in national decision-making.”

Professor John Craven said: “I am delighted that Professor Beer will take over as Chair of the Alliance in the summer. The organisation has made its mark in the sector over its first three years, and we are looking forward to enhancing our reputation as a major force alongside the other mission groups”.

Professor Beer is also chair of the Teaching Quality Information / National Student Survey steering group. She is a member of the board of the Equality Challenge Unit and the Higher Education Academy where she is chair of its Academic Council, she also serves on the advisory board of the Higher Education Policy Institute.

Members of the University Alliance:
Aberystwyth University, Bournemouth University, University of Bradford, De Montfort University, University of Glamorgan, University of Gloucestershire, University of Hertfordshire, University of Huddersfield, Institute of Education, University of Kent, University of Lincoln, Liverpool John Moores University, Manchester Metropolitan University, Northumbria University, Nottingham Trent University, Open University, Oxford Brookes University, University of Plymouth, University of Portsmouth, University of Salford, Sheffield Hallam University, University of Wales Institute, Cardiff, University of Wales, Newport, University of the West of England.


Further reading