University Alliance leads the way on international PhD mobility

Funding from EU’s Marie Skłodowska-Curie COFUND Doctoral Fellowship programme will help over 80 students to study in the UK.

University Alliance and their partners have hailed the success of their groundbreaking new programme to support PhD candidates – DTA3/COFUND.

So far 30 candidates from 14 different countries have won places at leading British universities through this scheme.

Operated by University Alliance, the programme is supported by a €6.5 million grant from the Marie Skłodowska-Curie COFUND Doctoral Fellowship programme. It supports international researchers in the fields of Applied Biosciences for Health, Energy & Social Policy to gain doctoral fellowships at some of the country’s leading technical and professional universities. The programme offers doctoral researchers a range of support including:

DTA3/COFUND builds on University Alliance’s Doctoral Training Alliance (DTA) which is a nationwide cohort-based doctoral training programme with a strong interdisciplinary and industry-focused ethos. Its objective is to train and develop highly employable researchers in strategically important areas.

Professor John Latham, Chair of University Alliance and VC of COFUND member, Coventry University commented:

“It’s fantastic to see the DTA3/COFUND programme go from strength to strength. We know from both member universities and students that the opportunity to work across a wide network of experts whilst studying at one of the UK’s top technical and professional universities is a huge bonus for students and supervisors. The valuable resources and support that the programme provides help to make this a leading model for how to recruit and train PhD candidates”.

University Alliance has today announced the next wave of places, offering candidates the chance to undertake doctoral research at one of 15 UK universities. Another 50 places will be available across all three disciplines with applications open between 4th March and 12th April 2019.

The new opportunities created through the programme are advertised at


Notes to editors:

  1. List of participating institutions: Coventry University, Liverpool John Moores University, Manchester Metropolitan University, Nottingham Trent University, Sheffield Hallam University, Teesside University, The Open University, University of Brighton, University of Central Lancashire, University of Greenwich, University of Hertfordshire, University of Huddersfield, University of Portsmouth, University of South Wales, Ulster University (non-Alliance)
  2. More information on UA’s Doctoral Training Alliance programme is available here: and full details of the COFUND aspect available here:
  3. This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłdowska-Curie grant agreement No 801604.
  4. We do not anticipate Brexit having any effect on our funding or our candidates ability to study the DTA3/COFUND Marie Skłodowska-Curie PhD Fellowship. Current guidance is that those starting in 2019 academic years will be unaffected.
  5. Alliance universities have been proud leaders in technical and professional education since the industrial revolution and are still crucial to the success of cities and sectors today, educating the professional workforce of the future, providing flexible and responsive R&D to businesses of all sizes and solving the problems facing society locally, nationally and across the globe. We are large enough to take risks, experienced at working with key partners and have never lost the enterprising mindset which says we must constantly innovate to stay fit for a changing world.  Visit:
  6. For media queries email:

Further reading